Remembering 9/11

As I sit watching the memorial for the victims of the September 11, 2001 attacks on America, I am once again reminded of my own memories of that day.

I was working at an inbound call centre for London Life Insurance and I had just started my shift.  It was a fairly steady morning and I answered my third call.  The client came on the line inquiring about funds available for withdrawal on her policy.  We began the process of confirming her information when suddenly she yelped in horror.

“Oh my God!” she said, “A plane just flew into the building!”

“Ma’am,” I said, “Do you need to get to safety? Are you okay??”

“Not my building,” she replied, “The World Trade Centre!”  She was in shock by what she was seeing on the news, and we quickly went through her request and ended the transaction. I turned to my colleague to relay what had transpired on the call to her. “Where is the World Trade Centre again?” I asked, and she explained it was in New York City.

“Odd accident”, I thought to myself. I assumed the pilot of a small plane must have lost control, flying freakishly into the building. Never in a milion years was I prepared for what was to come on the next call.  As we spoke, the client told me she was watching the news footage of what had happened a few moments before in New York City. There were no details, she explained, as to whether it was an accident or what size plane had hit. We shared theories and possibilities and agreed, it was an odd accident.

Within moments the client shrieked in terror. “Oh my God! Oh my God! Another plane has hit the second tower! Oh my God!” she cried, “This is no accident.  The United States is under attack!” My jaw dropped and the colour must have drained from my face, as my colleague came over to my desk to ask what was happening. I scribbled a note for her as I finished my call with the client who was distraught by what she witnessed on the TV and said she would call again later.

I immediately pulled the CNN website up on my computer to see for myself what was happening.  Photos were very slowly trickling in showing smoke billowing from the 2 buildings, and a wave of panic spread over us all.  The phones seemed to slow right down as the news of what was happening spread.

A television set was brought into our lounge and we took turns sitting glued to it on our breaks and lunch, filled with utter disbelief.  I will never forget some of the first images I saw that day.  People jumping for their lives from the top floors of the building.  I cannot imagine being forced to make a choice like that, and what must have been going through their minds:  jump to your probable death, or stay on the top floors and be burned to death.  The image is forever imprinted in my mind, and I cannot shake it no matter how hard I try.

The North American world as we know it changed that day. Canadians and Americans alike shared this tragedy, and we can never forget it.  We must remember, however, that this is the reality for many around the world every single day.  We must count our blessings that, for most of us, this is the first horror we have witnessed in our lives and think of those struggling against dictators who deny them food, freedom and the safety we take for granted.

Take some time today to reflect on the incidents of 9/11, and of all the men, women and children who lost their lives that day.  Their loss cannot be in vain.  We must stand together to create a world of peace where incidents like the 9/11 attack, and those that occur every single day around the world, are things of the past.  We are all part of one human family, and the infighting among us must stop.  It has to begin with each of us.

Count your blessings, love your human brothers and sisters and please, stop the fight.  World Peace starts with each of us.  No truer words: “You must be the change you want to see in the world.” – Mahatma Gandhi

Leave a comment